Catl. Soon All This Will Be Gone.

Artist: Catl.

Title: Soon All This Will Be Gone.

Release Date: 2012

Country: Canada

link: www.catl.bandcamp.com

Whether it’s the  the faded weatherworn look of the front cover, with classic bible-belt billboard  or  the late night drive interior photo, the tone is set for the Appalachia-style rocka-bluesy style howling, yodeling throwdown served up on  Catl.’s “Soon All This Will Be Gone”.

As I’m listening to the tracks, I feel like I am on some kind of interesting visionquest, where  I have front row seats to either a  backwoods moonshine festival, the making of the soundtrack to Ray Bradbury’s novel “Something Wicked this way comes” or a hillbilly hanging. The gritty pretty intertwining vocals, the old timey facial resonance with twangy instrumental attack delivers a party in your earphones. Now, fractal shards of the old style blues, bluegrass, rockabilly, and cow punk swirl around me like a pleasing incense drawing me further on this crazy jouney, filling the hole punched in my heart when The Cramps stopped touring.

Sarah’s vocals are throaty, pharyngeal,  resonant and really kickass. A nice departure from the  too pretty, or too forced overdone janisesque wannabe female vocalists. The real deal is served up here. Her voice to me, is what Bettye Paige was to pin up modeling. Classic. Catl’s vocal phrasing hits the mark every song and truthfully does remind me of the glory days of Lux Interior.

All tracks are sterling, but if i had to pick a couple of standout tracks, I’d pick Cinderblocks and Get Outta My Car.

Get on the Catl wagon immediately. After listing to this album end to end, I find myself hitting repeat. Clearly now, I will again and again. I will go find me a vintage convertible to drive around in blaring this cd.

Leave a comment